Well, 2020 has given new definition to “hold my beer” due to COVID-19; here’s what the timeline looked like in 2019.

Currently (23 August):

Five states vote-by-mail: Colorado, Hawaii, Oregon, Utah and Washington. Yes they are all western states. This means that all registered voters get a ballot in the mail, and there are in-person voting centers for those who need assistance. But there are no traditional polling places.

Because of COVID-19, another four states are mailing ballots to registered voters: California, Montana, Nevada and Vermont. So is the District of Columbia.

No-excuse absentee voting is the norm in 25 states and the District of Columbia: Alaska, Arizona, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Idaho, Kansas, Maine, Maryland, Minnesota, Nebraska, New Jersey, North Carolina, North Dakota, New Mexico, Ohio, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

Because of COVID-19, another eight states are allowing no-excuse absentee voting: Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Massachusetts, Missouri, New Hampshire, West Virginia.

Six states have not changed their excuse-required-to-vote-absentee rules: Indiana, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas. Yes they are mostly in the south.

  • Indiana, Louisiana, Missouri , South Carolina and Texas allow voters 65 and older to vote absentee.
  • Tennessee allows voters older than 60 to vote by mail.

Missouri  and New York have exceptions for COVID-19.