President Trump vows to strangle election voting by withholding money from USPS

On Thursday, Trump told FOX News that he doesn’t plan to negotiate with Democrats who he said want money for USPS so that it can process mail-in ballots.

In an interview Thursday with Fox Business Network’s Maria Bartiromo, Trump said he opposes a $25 billion emergency injection sought by the U.S. Postal Service, as well as a Democratic proposal to provide $3.6 billion in additional election funding to the states…

“They need that money in order to make the post office work, so it can take all of these millions and millions of ballots,” said the president, claiming again that mail ballots would be “fraudulent,” one of more than 80 attacks he has made against the election’s integrity since March, according to a tally by The Washington Post. Many of his assertions have been misleading or unfounded…

Later Thursday, Trump told reporters at the White House that he would not veto legislation that has funding for the Postal Service but added that “the reason the post office needs that much money is they have all of these millions of ballots coming in from nowhere and nobody knows from where and where they’re going.”

The United States does not have “universal mail-in voting” despite repeated claims by President Trump that we do.

Five states vote-by-mail: Colorado, Hawaii, Oregon, Utah and Washington. Yes they are all western states. This means that all registered voters get a ballot in the mail, and there are in-person voting centers for those who need assistance. But there are no traditional polling places.

Because of COVID-19, another four states are mailing ballots to registered voters: California, Montana, Nevada and Vermont.

No-excuse absentee voting is the norm in 25 states and the District of Columbia: Alaska, Arizona, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Idaho, Kansas, Maine, Maryland, Minnesota, Nebraska, New Jersey, North Carolina, North Dakota, New Mexico, Ohio, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

Because of COVID-19, another eight states are allowing no-excuse absentee voting: Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Delaware, Massachusetts, Missouri, New Hampshire, West Virginia.

Eight states have not changed their excuse-required-to-vote-absentee rules: Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, New York, Mississippi, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas. Yes they are mostly in the south.

If you live in a state where you can cast a ballot “absentee”, please prioritize your health and do so. Request your ballot early; return it quickly. In many places, you can return your ballot via a dropbox located near city hall rather than rely on the USPS.

What do you think?