State rules for voting by mail

All states must provide absentee voters with the ability to cast a ballot. However, states can set the conditions under which they will accept an absentee request.

2020 data

Five states vote by mail: CO, HI, OR, UT, WA

2019 data

Twenty states limit access to vote-by-mail using an absentee ballot:

  • AL, AK, CT, DE, IN, KY, LA, MA, MI, MO, MS, NH, NY, PA, RI, SC, TN, TX, VA, WV

Twenty-seven states and the District of Columbia allow anyone who is registered to vote access to vote-by-mail using an absentee ballot.

  • AK, AZ, CA, DC, FL, GA, HI, IA, ID, IL, KS, ME, MD, MN, MT, NE, NJ, NC, ND, NM, NV, OH, OK, SD, UT, VT, WI, WY

Three states vote entirely by mail (with some in-person locations).

  • CO, OR, WA

Follow the appropriate link to learn about deadlines and eligibility as well as a link to your state elections website.

Do not share personally-identifiable voter information (name, date of birth, address) with websites that do not advise you of how they will protect your privacy.